The 20-goal Premiership strikers!


NOWADAYS it is hard for any one player to score 20 goals in a Premiership season!

Last term, Romelu Lukaku was the first striker to net 20+ times in the top flight for Everton since Gary Lineker in 1985-86, while Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Spurs) and Diego Costa (Chelsea) are the only players who have bagged 20 goals in successive seasons. Indeed, Kane, the 2017 Golden Boot winner, notched the most goals in a Premiership campaign since Luis Suarez hit 31 for Liverpool in 2013-14

List of the last players to net 20 or more PL goals for the 2016-17 teams:

Middlesbrough Bernie Slaven, 21 1989-90
Stoke City Peter Thorne, 24 1999-2000
West Ham United Teddy Sheringham, 20 2004-05
West Brom Albion Kevin Phillips, 22 2007-08
Swansea City Jason Scotland, 21 2007-08
Sunderland Darren Bent, 24 2009-10
Southampton Rickie Lambert, 27 2011-12
Crystal Palace Glenn Murray, 30 2012-13
Manchester United Robin van Persie, 26 2012-13
Liverpool Luis Suarez 31, Daniel Sturridge 21 2013-14
Bournemouth Callum Wilson, 20 2014-15
Watford Troy Deeney 21, Odion Ighalo 20 2015-16
Burnley Andre Gray, 23 2015-16
Hull City Abel Hernandez, 20 2015-16
Leicester City Jamie Vardy, 24 2015-16
Manchester City Sergio Aguero, 24 2015-16
Tottenham Hotspur Harry Kane, 29 2016-17
Everton Romelu Lukaku, 25 2016-17
Arsenal Alexis Sanchez, 24 2016-17
Chelsea Diego Costa, 20 2016-17


© No part of this web site may be reproduced without written permission from the publishers. All rights reserved. Todos los derechos reservados.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

We welcome comments from readers on our website and across our social networks. We invite you to discuss issues and share your views and we encourage robust debate and criticism provided it is civil.

However we reserve the right to reject or edit comments that:

• Contain offensive language
• Include personal attacks of any kind
• Are likely to offend or target any ethnic, racial, nationality or religious group
• Are homophobic, transphobic, sexist, offensive or obscene
• Contain spam or include links to other sites
• Are clearly off topic
• Impersonate an individual or organisation, are fraudulent, defamatory of any person, threatening or invasive of another’s privacy or otherwise illegal
• Are trolling or threatening
• Promote, advertise or solicit the sale of any goods or services

You grant us a non-exclusive, royalty-free, perpetual, worldwide licence to republish any material you submit to us, without limitation, in any format.